My Hellenophilia (love of all things Greek)

Image

Hellenophilia is probably the wrong word… perhaps a better term is: Philhellenism

Greece, to me, is the heart of modern civilisation- not to knock the Egyptians or anything, because they’re awesome too, but the Greeks… just… *dreamy sigh*

The Ancient Greeks are my favourite civilisation. The Romans, however, ugh, don’t get me started. All I have to back my opinion is a GCSE in Ancient Civilisations and in Latin (both A*s), but to me, the Romans are copy-cat scum. A bit harsh perhaps but it really bugs me that so much of what we do today and name/know things today is based on the Roman versions… not the original Greek versions.

Do I even need to talk about the Roman Gods system? I mean come on! Each Greek God had it’s own Roman equivalent… and then we named the planets after the Roman Gods!

Anyway… I might be getting off on the wrong foot here.

SOPHOPHILIA/ PHILOSOPHILIA (love of learning)

I love the study of all Ancient Civilisations, begrudgingly including the Romans. A couple of years ago we were lucky enough to visit Italy for our Summer Holidays. We went to Rome, Herculaneum, Pompeii, and Naples among others.

I loved, lovedloved it! I dragged my parents around Rome, fussing over visiting the Circus Maximus, the Colosseum, the Roman Agora (reportedly housing the remains of Julius Caesar), then we went to Herculaneum for the better part of 3 or 4 hours. Pompeii was perhaps by the highlight of the trip, personally leading up the tour, my mum only lasted a measly 4 hours, my dad and I, on the other hand, strode on for another 2. Even after 6 hours in Pompeii, I wasn’t nearly ready to go back to the B&B.

I simply can’t wait to go to Greece and visit the hallowed sights, walk the same paths that that magnificent race of people had once upon a time long ago, to breathe in the briny air, and eat olives hand-plucked straight from the groves.

Yes, Greece is truly my very own holy grail.

Leave a Reply

