Greece on the Brain

Image

Ugh, it’s still only Monday. Feels like Tuesday because there’s no school. I really can’t push myself to revise. What is life. Ugh. Why am I such a bad student? -.-

Anyway, just sat on the couch with dad chatting about Greece (*dreamy sigh*). Tonight’s topic of conversation: Safety in Greece.

This trip has been long defined as a solo trip in which I gain my independence and street wise… apparently my parents haven’t gotten this memo. Dad kicked off about going with a friend, I answered that no I wasn’t going with a friend. Voice levels rose a little, but not enough to qualify as a fight…

He has it in his head that I need to call one of my Uni Contacts to see if anyone there is interested in skipping off to Greece with me for a month or so to travel with me. I’m sorry, but as selfish as this sounds, this trip is my trip. I am saving the money for it. I have a plan of what I want to do and accomplish. I am not, I repeat not compromising my plans to make them fit with another stranger’s.

I’m sorry. I just, I’ve dreamed about this for so long that if I were to go and not do what I want to do- it would reduce me to tears. Then dad started insisting that I go with two friends, not just one.

Ok, I get it, I really do see what he’s getting at, the safety isn’t guaranteed in Greece. I need to stay safe and all that, but I can’t see myself finding anyone interested in my (uncompromising) plan- let alone two people.

My plans are to do some self-defense classes, sure they’re not going to keep me safe, but they’re better than nothing! I don’t plan to go clubbing a lot, nor hitchhiking, nor taxi-ing anywhere. I’ll find a good group of people to hang out with and not stray from that group, but I just don’t see myself finding one loyal travel companion…

I seriously can’t wait to go! I have a few jobs lined up but I’m still concerned about the money situation… I’ll have to worry about it later seeing as I have bigger fish to fry first (i.e. my IB exams…)

If only I could fast forward the boring bits…. *sigh* if only, in only, right? 😛

Another thing I thought of… when I’m there I won’t exactly be carrying my laptop around am I?

That would be plain stupid, it would either get damaged or stolen. SO, I’m left with the internet cafes- but this means that my updates won’t always have pictures or be regular… something that (for some reason) didn’t cross my mind when I engendered this blog….

I’ll figure out a way around that I’m sure… in the mean time: REVISION!

Joy of my life.

Light of my being.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lauren
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 21:48:43

    Don’t you have a smartphone you can get a SIM card whilst over there and voila – net access? 🙂 xx

    Reply

    • caitiecakes
      Dec 19, 2012 @ 01:37:46

      I don’t have a smart phone, but I can look into getting one for the trip! I was thinking of just getting an indestructible Nokia, but I would like to have internet… We’ll see what the budget allows for. PS- OH HEI LOU!! 😀

      Reply

Leave a Reply

