Lunchtime Lecture

On Friday last week I went to a Classics lecture and I just googled the guy who gave the lecture and found this:

Image

Ughh!!!! The whole University thing is getting to me more than usual. All (99% at least) of my friends are going to the UK and I’m off to Australia. I know the degree I want to do… but as far as I’m concerned it’s only offered at Exeter… which, if I’m not wrong, is only ~63 miles from Bristol… where Chimmercharlie is planning to go.

I know you’re not supposed to go where your friends go… and if I applied to Exeter I wouldn’t be following people per se… I’d just be going with the crowd. But the most compelling argument for applying to the UK (in a sudden change of heart…) is that it is the ONLY place I’ve found that offers the degree I want.

Dead serious.

I want to do Ancient History and Archaeology. Exeter offers it. See?

Image

*Cries*

Nowhere in Australia offers it. I’ve looked and looked and looked. I’ve emailed the Universities… it really isn’t offered there. To make matters worse, I don’t live there so enquiring about it instead of just emailing is nearly impossible. I shouldn’t be worrying about it until after the exams, even I changed my mind and applied I’d still be going in a year behind everyone else.

I so desperately want to do Ancient History and Archaeology… I don’t want to lose my friends either… this is a solve for both. It does my degree!!! Does anyone realise how torturous it is to know that the degree DOES EXIST but I can’t take it? I mean I could… but I’m not sure if I’d be allowed to.

Moving to the UK… it’s against everything in me. I have always dreamed of going home to Australia and being with my whole family. Australia is the dream. But this dream… it isn’t as complete as I like to make it out to be.

The degree isn’t there. The family is a shattered mess all over the country. I don’t even have a preference as to which Uni I want to go to.

The thing about Australia though… WEATHER. WEATHER. WEATHER. And… um WEATHER. But aside from that it’s just easier! I’ll be with my family (more or less), I’m pretty much guaranteed entry for a single degree (29 points people… 29. UK is asking minimum of 36.) and there’s no “UCAS” and “Personal Statement” bullshit. It’s straight-up grades for Australia.

UGHHHHHHHHH!!! I’m going to focus on my work. I can’t think about these things. It’s giving me heartache. And a headache. And a pit in the bottom of my stomach.

Image

Leave a Reply

